Skip to content
Chemist Prices

Vitamin D: Price, Dosage & Where to Buy

Vitamin D appears on this page as a pharmaceutical product. Listed status: General sale list medicine (GSL).

We have gathered the basic label facts, typical cost and purchase options for Vitamin D. In the United Kingdom, Vitamin D does not require a prescription.

Manufacturing status is not fixed, so treat the figures here as a snapshot, not a promise. Scroll down for dosage forms, region detail and frequently asked questions.

Facts

Active ingredient
Vitamin D (Colecalciferol)
General sale list medicine (GSL)
Licensing status not on file

No generic version on file

This medicine is available without a prescription: general sale list medicines are sold off the shelf, and pharmacy medicines are supplied after a quick word with the pharmacist.

Vitamin D is sold as a general sale list medicine under UK medicines classification. Still, check the label and the patient information leaflet before you start using it, and speak to the pharmacist if you have questions. A few versions of this product are classed as pharmacy (P) medicines and are held behind the counter, so a quick question to staff can save a search.

About Vitamin D

Vitamin D is a vitamin, although its formal pharmacological class is not listed for this product. The label does not state a main reason for its use, so a specific treatment purpose cannot be confirmed from the product details. Its prescription status, available forms and strengths, and availability as a generic medicine are also not listed.

What Vitamin D is used for

The label does not list any conditions or symptoms that this Vitamin D product is intended to treat. This means a specific treatment purpose cannot be stated for this product. The product name alone does not establish its approved uses or who it is suitable for.

A pharmacist can help clarify the intended use of a particular Vitamin D product by checking its packaging and patient information. Advice should relate to the actual product being considered.

How Vitamin D works

Vitamin D generally helps the body absorb calcium and phosphate from food. These minerals support the maintenance of bones and teeth. Vitamin D acts through signals that help regulate how the body handles these minerals, rather than providing the minerals itself.

This is a general explanation of vitamin D's action, not a statement of the approved uses of this particular product. Its formal pharmacological class is not listed.

Dosage from the label

The label lists no strengths, dosage forms or dosing schedule for this Vitamin D product. The usual starting dose is not specified.

There is therefore no product-specific dose to describe. A pharmacist can check the actual pack and its patient information to clarify the dosing details for the particular product.

Key warnings

  • The label does not specify product-specific warnings
  • The label does not specify contraindications
  • The label does not specify precautions for particular patient groups

Main interactions

  • The label does not specify interactions with medicines
  • The label does not specify interactions with food
  • The label does not specify interactions with other supplements

Missed dose

No product-specific missed-dose guidance is listed. General pharmacy advice is not to double a dose to make up for a missed one. Check the patient information for the actual product, or ask a pharmacist how to handle a missed dose when the dosing schedule is unclear.

Pregnancy and breastfeeding

The label does not specify pregnancy data or information about use while breastfeeding. Suitability during pregnancy or breastfeeding cannot be confirmed for this particular product. Discuss its use with a doctor or pharmacist, who can check the actual product and its patient information.

Storage

No storage conditions are listed for this product. Follow the storage directions on the actual packaging and keep the product out of the sight and reach of children to maintain safe storage.

Vitamin D price estimates, the UK-licensed equivalent

Estimate, not a quote

  • 000unit General sale list medicine (GSL)

    £2.91 per tablet or capsule

    N/A

    Price estimate

    Where to buy
  • 1ml General sale list medicine (GSL)

    £7.25 per tablet or capsule

    N/A

    Price estimate

    Where to buy
  • 5ml General sale list medicine (GSL)

    £26.33 per pack dispensed

    N/A

    Price estimate

    Where to buy
  • 25mcg General sale list medicine (GSL)

    £0.02 per tablet or capsule

    about £0.64 for 30 tablets or capsules

    Generic · Price estimate

    Where to buy
  • 25ml General sale list medicine (GSL)

    £0.21 per tablet or capsule

    N/A

    Price estimate

    Where to buy
  • 200unit General sale list medicine (GSL)

    £3.39 per tablet or capsule

    N/A

    Price estimate

    Where to buy
  • 400unit General sale list medicine (GSL)

    £3.65 per tablet or capsule

    N/A

    Price estimate

    Where to buy
  • 440unit General sale list medicine (GSL)

    £5.90 per tablet or capsule

    N/A

    Price estimate

    Where to buy
  • 500unit General sale list medicine (GSL)

    £18.11 per tablet or capsule

    N/A

    Price estimate

    Where to buy
  • 600unit General sale list medicine (GSL)

    £12.27 per tablet or capsule

    N/A

    Price estimate

    Where to buy
  • 800unit General sale list medicine (GSL)

    £3.08 per tablet or capsule

    N/A

    Price estimate

    Where to buy
  • 880unit General sale list medicine (GSL)

    £4.05 per tablet or capsule

    N/A

    Price estimate

    Where to buy
  • 1000iu General sale list medicine (GSL)

    £0.02 per tablet or capsule

    N/A

    Price estimate

    Where to buy
  • 2000iu General sale list medicine (GSL)

    £0.10 per tablet or capsule

    N/A

    Price estimate

    Where to buy
£2.91 000unit £7.25 1ml £26.33 5ml £0.02 25mcg £0.21 25ml £3.39 200unit £3.65 400unit £5.90 440unit £18.11 500unit £12.27 600unit £3.08 800unit £4.05 880unit £0.02 1000iu £0.10 2000iu
Estimated price per tablet or capsule by strength
All forms and prices
Price estimates by strength
Forms Price per unit Typical fill
000unit £2.91 / tablet or capsule N/A
1ml £7.25 / tablet or capsule N/A
5ml £26.33 / pack dispensed N/A
25mcg £0.02 / tablet or capsule · Generic about £0.64 for 30 tablets or capsules
25ml £0.21 / tablet or capsule N/A
200unit £3.39 / tablet or capsule N/A
400unit £3.65 / tablet or capsule N/A
440unit £5.90 / tablet or capsule N/A
500unit £18.11 / tablet or capsule N/A
600unit £12.27 / tablet or capsule N/A
800unit £3.08 / tablet or capsule N/A
880unit £4.05 / tablet or capsule N/A
1000iu £0.02 / tablet or capsule N/A
2000iu £0.10 / tablet or capsule N/A

as of Oct 2, 2026 · Pricing methodology

Treat any price here as an estimate, drawn from UK pricing sources including NHS dispensing data, not a binding quote. The price at any one counter can differ from this figure, so treat the numbers as a starting point, not a promise. A price well below the listed range is a red flag about the seller's license.

Pharmacies by area for Vitamin D (UK-licensed equivalent)

Cities with the most pharmacies

Pharmacies near you

Use your location to open the pharmacies closest to you and ask them about Vitamin D, the UK-licensed medicine with the same active ingredient.

Find pharmacies near me

Related medicines

Frequently asked questions

Is a prescription required for this Vitamin D product?

The prescription status of this product is unknown. Whether it requires a prescription in the United Kingdom needs to be checked with a pharmacist.

What is the approximate price of Vitamin D?

No product-specific price is listed here. Any price shown on this page is an estimate, and the actual price can vary.

Which strengths and forms are listed?

No strengths or dosage forms are listed for this product. The label also does not specify a starting dose or dosing schedule.

Where is Vitamin D sold?

Check the region and city pages linked from this hub to see pharmacies near a given city and ask them about Vitamin D. Availability is not guaranteed at any single pharmacy, so call ahead.

First published October 2, 2026 · Last updated · Report an error on this page